Uncle Ken’s Maxim: “It’s the Committee Work that Kills You”

Kenneth C. Land

When I think back on my mentors in graduate school, there is no question that I learned the most from Ken Land. I was Ken’s TA for three years in the graduate statistics courses, and he helped me immensely on a couple of papers I published. But, I think Ken’s most enduring impact on me was in how he handled administration, and how he viewed the machinations of academic bureaucracy. I could tell by how he said it that he meant it, even though I didn’t know what he was talking about (until later). “It’s the commitee work that kills you.” I must have heard him say it ten times, and Ken isn’t exactly a guy who gushes forth communication. When he says something, he means it. And he kept repeating this. Now I know why…..

 

Leave a Reply

