I can’t stand Juan Cole

 juan

Every day, I slip through my news links and the favorites menu comes up. There he is. With his new picture. I liked his longer curly hair better. I click on something else. Maybe Susie Bright. I don’t want to know. I really don’t. Isn’t there something unimportant I can read about? Not there. Not with that guy. Especially not now.

I don’t know Juan Cole, but we corresponded in the process of him making a wonderful contribution to Review of Religious Research when I was editor. Cole was being screwed over by religious wackjobs, and had been rejected at several journals for a paper examining fundamentalism in Ba’hai. All the “experts” were also devotees, and they didn’t want to hear what Cole had to say, and Cole’s points were all on target.

I don’t want to hear what Cole has to say either. I can’t take it. I can’t imagine how he manages to report on the horrors of the contemporary Middle East.  A lot of the time, I can only read about half of what he writes, and then I have to look away. Now is one of those times.

I understand that most Americans watch that Tee Vee and stuff. I sure wish someone like Juan Cole was on the TV every night, telling people about what is really going on in the world, and maybe why. I feel ashamed not clicking on his site, what kind of person doesn’t want to know? Then, when I do, I wish I never knew. As painful as he is, Juan Cole is the most important source of information on the Middle East in the Anglo-world.

It’s time for the US to become more isolationist, particularly by eliminating all military aid to all nations and entities, and prohibiting the sale of all military equipment from US firms to foreign entities.  Just doing that will not only satisfy the true will of the American people, but it will make sure that nobody is bombing children with phosphorus bombs made in and paid for by the USA.

Leave a Reply

